History will Repeat In This Year's Jaguar Heritage Racing

Tuesday 15 May 2012, 17:34 PM by

In the Mile Miglia 2012, Jaguar Heritage Racing will employ a team with the strength of six cars. The event will witness Jaguar's 60th anniversary of its C-type model, equipped with a prototype disc braking system back in 1952 running of the 1,000 mile road race. The C-type entry of 1952 Mile Miglia was the first ever competitive endurance test in the brand's development program of disc brakes for gradual road car use on a large scale.

In 1952 Mile Miglia, Sir Stirling Moss steered the disc brake equipped C-type car accompanied by Norman Dewis, then Chief Development Engineer, Jaguar. 60 Years later, Sir Moss, aged 82 years and Dewis, aged 91 years will once again pair up to drive the same car in Mille miglia 2012. Sir Stirling Moss, drove the same C-type, XKC 005, to win a sports car race to mark the very first win for a disc braked car later in 1952.

Besides Moss and Dewis, there will be five more entries from the Jaguar Heritage Racing in 2012 Mille Miglia including two more C-types, XKC 018, first owned by Juan Manuel Fangio and XKC 045, a roadster and a fixed head version of XK 120 and a Mk VII saloon. Making a new record in the history of the event is that around 32 jaguars are speculated to participate.

Global Brand Director, Jaguar, Cars, Adrian Hallmark commented, "This year's Mille Miglia is very significant for Jaguar. It marks both the start of the Jaguar Heritage Racing programme, a living celebration of our rich heritage, and also a true milestone in the brand's history of producing innovative technology: 60 years since Sir Stirling Moss scored the very first race win for a disc-braked car at Reims.” He further added, "To see Sir Stirling Moss take the start in Brescia alongside Norman Dewis will be a very special moment. We wish them and all participants in this year's Mille Miglia – an event Jaguar is again proud to sponsor – all the very best."

Latest models in the Jaguar range: XF, XJ and XKR-S, will also be present at the event in form of support teams for the heritage cars. Each car has been designed and engineered on the same technology popularised by the Moss-Dewis duo back in 1952.

This year's Mille Miglia is the first competitive outing, since 1956, under Jaguar Heritage Racing programme which will witness C-type and D-type models race competitively at both

Nürburgring Oldtimer Grand Prix and the Goodwood Revival.

A C-type, XKC 005 bearing MDU 212 number plate, a C-type, XKC 018 bearing 70 XVK numbers, a C-type, XKC 045, bearing NDU 289 on its number plate, a Mk VII bearing LHP 5, a XK 120 OTS bearing number plate with OOF 748 and a XK 120 fixed-head registered with LWK 707 numbers will participate in this year's Mille Miglia Jaguar Heritage Racing.

Popular Jaguar Cars
    No New Cars
Popular Cars
Upcoming Cars